Skip to content Skip to footer

The World Heritage Day has been on 18th April since 1983, when the General Assembly of UNESCO approved the initiative by the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS). It is committed to promoting the global recognition of world heritage protection, their diversity and significance. This year’s theme of day is “Complex Pasts: Diverse Futures”, aiming to inspire inclusive and creative thinking and tackling of the world heritages and preserving them for generations to come.  

China, a civilization with time-honored history, is endowed with rich heritages. Be it natural or cultural, historic or ethical, heritages in China live up to the fullest extent and stand among the world’s TOPs in amount and diversities. In 1985, China joined the International Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage and has since been proactively engaging in world heritage projects, and also been a strong partner with UNESCO. The 55 UNESCO listed world heritage sites in China include some world-renowned tourist destinations, e.g. the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, the Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses, the Mount Tai, the Mogao Grottoes, and the Potala Palace, etc. They crystalize Chinese cultural profoundness and/or natural wonders, all gems to mankind.

China has been dedicated to world heritage protection and conservation, improving their interpretation and education to the public, as well as deepening exchanges and mutual learning with other civilizations. To celebrate this World Heritage Day, we offer you a feature story on China’s 55 world heritages. Please explore below:

About World Heritage Day

World Heritage Day, also known as the International Monuments and Sites Day, which falls on 18th April each year, is all about recognizing the significance of world heritage protection and preservation. World heritages are artistical beauties and historical treasures, precious assets of the whole humanity. 

The World Heritage Day was initiated by the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) on 18 April 1982 and approved by the General Assembly of UNESCO in 1983. Its aim is to promote awareness about the diversity of cultural heritage of humanity, their vulnerability and the collective efforts required for their protection and conservation.

This year, the theme of World Heritage Day is entitled “Complex Pasts: Diverse Futures”, which is especially thought-triggering in this difficult time of all.

China’s World Heritages

As of now, China has 55 UNESCO World Heritage Sites, ranks top in the world tied with Italy, including 37 cultural heritage sites, 14 natural heritage sites and 4 cultural and natural heritage sites.

The Great Wall
Summer Palace
Temple of Heaven
Imperial Palaces
The First Qin Emperor
Sichuan Giant Panda Sanctuaries
Mount Qingcheng
Mount Emei Scenic Area
Jiuzhaigou Valley
Silk Roads
Historic Centre of Macao
Migratory Bird Sanctuaries
Chengjiang Fossil Site
The Grand Canal
Classical Gardens of Suzhou
Fanjing Mountain
Fujian Tulou
Ancient Koguryo Kingdom
West Lake
Honghe Hani Rice Terraces
Hubei Shennongjia
Huangshan Mountain
Kaiping Diaolou and Villages
Old Town of Lijiang
Liangzhu City
Longmen Grottoes
Lushan National Park
Imperial Tombs
Mogao Caves
Ancient City of Pingyao
Temple and Cemetery of Confucius
Mount Sanqingshan National Park
Dazu Rock Carvings
Taishan Mountain
Qinghai Hoh Xil
Tusi Sites
Ancient Villages in southern Anhui
Mount Wutai
Wudang Mountains
Mount Wuyi
Xinjiang Tianshan
Three Parallel Rivers
Site of Xanadu
China Danxia
South China Karst
Yungang Grottoes
Zuojiang Huashan
Videos of World Heritage Sites in China

             The Great Wall

             Mount Wudang

             Mount Huangshan

           Dazu Rock Carvings

         Old Town of Lijiang

    Sichuan Panda Sanctuaries

      Mount Emei Scenic Area

          Old Town of Pingyao

               Mount Wuyi

    Classic Gardens of Suzhou

              Mount Lushan

           Hubei Shennongjia

List of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in China

Leave a comment